Hungary’s Candidate To Be Next EU Commission President

Budapest, Hungary – Katalin Csaba, a member of the European Parliament, has been nominated by Hungarian Prime Minister Viktor Orban to be the next president of the European Commission. The European Commission is the executive body of the European Union, and its president is responsible for overseeing the work of the Commission and representing the EU on the world stage..

Csaba is a member of the Fidesz party, which is led by Orban. She has been a member of the European Parliament since 2019, and she currently serves as the vice-chair of the Committee on Foreign Affairs..

If Csaba is elected president of the European Commission, she would be the first Hungarian to hold the position. She would also be the first woman to lead the Commission since its creation in 1958..

Csaba’s nomination has been met with mixed reactions. Some have praised her as a strong and experienced candidate, while others have expressed concerns about her close ties to Orban and her views on the EU..

Orban has been a controversial figure in the EU, and he has clashed with other EU leaders over issues such as immigration and the rule of law. Some have expressed concerns that Csaba would be too willing to toe Orban’s line if she were elected president of the Commission..

Csaba has said that she is committed to the EU and its values. She has also said that she would work to build consensus among EU member states..

The European Parliament will vote on Csaba’s nomination in the coming months. If she is elected, she will take office on November 1, 2024..

The European Commission is responsible for proposing and implementing EU legislation. It also manages the EU’s budget and represents the EU in international negotiations..

The president of the European Commission is elected by the European Parliament, with the approval of the European Council. The president serves a five-year term..

The current president of the European Commission is Ursula von der Leyen of Germany. She was elected in 2019..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *